Hengyang Kaixin Special Material Techonolgy Co.,LTD

Use silicon nitride ceramic tools to cut difficult-to-machine materials

Author:Kaixin Special Materials - Silicon Nitride CeramicSource:Kaixin Special Materials - Silicon Nitride CeramicLink:http://www.special-material.com

1 cutting chilled cast iron

The hardness of chilled cast iron is very high, the rough surface is rough, and there are casting defects such as sand holes and blowholes. The machining allowance is large, the general cutting depth is selected larger during rough machining, and there is a large impact load, and the cutting conditions are quite severe. It is also difficult to use a ceramic tool for roughing. Usually the carbide former is used to rough out the outer circle, leaving a margin of about 0.3 mm (one side), and then semi-finishing with a silicon nitride ceramic tool.

Tool damage problem

Due to the high hardness of the workpiece material, the tool is susceptible to damage even in semi-finish vehicles. The following measures can be taken during processing:

Use negative rake for cutting. The negative rake angle does not have to be large. For example, the shank groove has a longitudinal negative rake angle (gp=-11° or so). Thus, when the main deviation angle and the sub-offset angle are both 45°, the rake and back angles of the insert itself are For O, the rake angle of the main cutting edge after installation is -8°, the inclination angle of the cutting edge is -8°, and the relief angles of the cutting edge and the auxiliary cutting edge are both 8°. One blade has eight corners for cutting.

Sharpen the negative chamfer on the cutting edge. For example bg1=0.2mm, g01=-30° to protect the cutting edge.

Use a thicker blade. When cutting, not only the cutting force is great, but also the cutting temperature is very high. If the thickness of the blade is not enough, the rigidity of the groove surface that is in contact with the lower surface of the blade is not enough, so that the surface of the blade is cracked. For example, cutting with a 16 x 16 x 4.5 mm blade produces a visible crack in the direction of the vertical cutting edge, and cracking occurs with a 16 x 16 x 8 mm blade.


Contrast with cemented carbide tools

The cutting of chilled cast iron with hard alloy cutting tools usually has a cutting speed of only 10 to 15 m/min, and due to the relatively heavy tool wear, there is a more pronounced taper in the workpiece, which will increase the margin of the subsequent grinding process. With silicon nitride ceramic cutting chilled cast iron, cutting speed can reach 35 ~ 40m/min, such as the turning hardness of 66 ~ 78HS (49 ~ 58HRC), length 803mm roll, after processing a flank wear Only 0.2 to 0.3mm, one corner of the blade can turn 3 to 4 rolls. It can be seen that the use of silicon nitride ceramic tool to replace semi-finished carbide tool chilled cast iron workpiece, the cutting speed at least more than doubled, you can get a higher tool durability and machining accuracy. The cost of cutting tools has not increased much, but the economic benefits have been significantly improved.


2 cutting high hardness steel

Cutting high manganese steel

Although the original hardness of high manganese steel is not necessarily very high, but the work hardening is very serious, the hardness after processing can be increased by about twice, the cutting process is very poor, it is very difficult to use ordinary carbide tool processing, especially when the processing accuracy or rough surface When the degree of demand is high, carbide tools are even more powerless. For example, a factory processing active wheels, material ZG55Mn, hardening, hardness 169 ~ 225HB, 380mm inner hole tolerance is only 0.045mm, inner hole taper requirements 0.014/455mm, roughness requirements Ra1.6μm. The use of a variety of carbide tool processing, can not reach the above quality requirements; later use silicon nitride ceramic tool, smooth solution to the problem.

Another kind of high manganese steel's original hardness is 280HB, after the initial cutting hardness is 500~600HB, it is very difficult to process with the ordinary hard alloy cutting tool, although the high-performance hard alloy cutting tool can process, but the efficiency is low, cutting Speed is only 16m/min. With silicon nitride ceramic inserts at constant cutting depth and feed rate, the cutting speed can reach 65m/min, the machining efficiency is increased by more than 3 times, and the cutting is smooth and light, the surface roughness of the workpiece is small, and the tool wears. Extremely small.

Matters needing attention in use: 1 Continuous cutting, that is, roughing and finishing cars or semi-finishing car continuous. Avoid roughing the rough stock first, and then finish machining; 2 Cutting depth should be more than 0.5mm to avoid cutting in the hardened layer; 3 Both ends must be chamfered in advance, otherwise the cutter heads at the feeding and the outlet are easy to crack.


Cutting hardened steel

Some alloy quenched steels, such as W18Cr4V, Gr15, 38CrMoAlA, etc., have a hardness of 58-62HRC and are difficult to cut. Grinding methods are usually used, but the grinding efficiency is very low. For example, the oil pump sleeve material of a factory is 38CrMoAlA, and the allowance to be removed after nitriding is 0.5mm. If grinding is used, it takes 3 to 4 hours, but it takes only 10 minutes to turn it with a silicon nitride ceramic tool. Greatly improved cutting efficiency.


3 cutting high silicon aluminum alloy


Although the hardness of high-silicon aluminum alloy is not high, due to the high silicon content, the fine-grained silicon and other alloy components contained in the material have a strong abrasion effect, which makes the tool wear quickly.


24-hour telephone consultation:
+86 0734 8579787
Choose us         Choose the future
Email:Jim@special-material.com
Address: No. 18, Baishazhou Industrial Park, Hengyang City

衡阳凯新特种材料科技有限公司

用氮化硅陶瓷刀具切削难加工材料

作者:凯新特种材料-氮化硅陶瓷来源:凯新特种材料-氮化硅陶瓷网址:http://www.special-material.com

1 切削冷硬铸铁

冷硬铸铁硬度很高,毛坯表面粗糙,并存在砂眼、气孔等铸造缺陷,加工余量较大,粗加工时一般切削深度选得较大,有很大的冲击载荷,切削条件相当苛刻,目前还难于用陶瓷刀具进行粗车。通常先用硬质合金刀具粗车外圆,留下0.3mm(单边)左右的余量,再用氮化硅陶瓷刀具半精车。
  1. 刀具的破损问题

    由于工件材料硬度很高,即使是半精车,刀具也易发生破损。加工时可采取如下措施:
    1. 用负前角切削。负前角值不必很大,例如刀杆槽有一纵向负前角(gp=-11°左右),这样,当主偏角和副偏角都为45°时,刀片本身的前角和后角均为O,安装后主切削刃的前角为-8°,刃倾角为-8°,切削刃和副切削刃的后角均为8°。一块刀片有八个角可用于切削。

    2. 在切削刃上刃磨出负倒棱。例如bg1=0.2mm,g01=-30°,以保护刃口。

    3. 选用较厚的刀片。切削时不仅切削力大,而且切削温度也非常高,如果刀片厚度不够,造成和刀片下表面接触的槽表面的刚度不够,从而使刀片表面产生裂纹。例如用16×16×4.5mm的刀片切削,在垂直切削刃方向产生了肉眼可见的裂纹,用16×16×8mm的刀片切削则无裂纹出现。


  2. 和硬质合金刀具的对比

    用硬质合金刀具切削冷硬铸铁,切削速度一般只有10~15m/min,并且由于刀具磨损比较严重,车出的工件存在比较明显的圆锥度,这将增加后道磨削工序的余量。用氮化硅陶瓷刀具切削冷硬铸铁,切削速度可达到35~40m/min ,如车削硬度为66~78HS(49~58HRC)、长度为803mm的轧辊,加工完一根后,后刀面磨损只有0.2~0.3mm,刀片的一个角可车削3~4根轧辊。可见用氮化硅陶瓷刀具代替硬质合金刀具半精车冷硬铸铁工件,切削速度至少提高一倍以上,可获得更高的刀具耐用度与加工精度。刀具的费用增加不多,而经济效益却明显提高。


2 切削高硬度钢

  1. 切削高锰钢

    高锰钢的原始硬度虽然不一定很高,但加工硬化非常严重,加工后硬度可提高一倍左右,切削加工性很差,用一般硬质合金刀具很难加工,特别当加工精度或表面粗糙度要求高时,硬质合金刀具更显得无能为力。例如某厂加工主动车轮,材料为ZG55Mn ,调质,硬度为169~225HB,380mm内孔公差仅为0.045mm,内孔锥度要求0.014/455mm,粗糙度要求为Ra1.6µm。选用多种硬质合金刀具加工,均达不到上述质量要求;后改用氮化硅陶瓷刀具,顺利解决了问题。
    另一种高锰钢的原始硬度为280HB,初始切削后的硬度即达500~600HB ,用普通硬质合金刀具很难加工,选用高性能硬质合金刀具虽能加工,但效率较低,切削速度只有16m/min 。用氮化硅陶瓷刀片在切削深度和进给量不变的情况下,切削速度可达到65m/min ,加工效率提高3倍多,而且切削平稳、轻快,工件的表面粗糙度较小,刀具磨损极小。
    使用中应注意的事项:① 要连续切削,即粗车与精车或半精车连续进行。避免先粗车毛坯,然后再进行精加工;② 切削深度应在0.5mm以上,以免在硬化层中切削;③ 两端面要预先倒角,否则进刀和出刀处刀头易崩裂。


  2. 切削淬火钢

    一些合金淬火钢例如W18Cr4V、Gr15、38CrMoAlA等的硬度可达58~62HRC ,很难切削,通常采用磨削方式加工,但磨削的效率很低。例如某厂的油泵套筒材料为38CrMoAlA,氮化后要切除的余量有0.5mm,如用磨削加工,需3~4小时,但用氮化硅陶瓷刀具车削加工,仅需要10分钟,大大提高了切削效率。


3 切削高硅铝合金


高硅铝合金的硬度虽然不高,但由于硅含量较高,材料中含有的细颗粒硅和其他合金成分具有强烈的擦伤作用,使刀具的磨损很快。


24小时咨询电话:
+86 0734 8579787
业务介绍           产品案例         新闻动态         关于我们
邮箱:Jim@special-material.com
地址:衡阳市白沙洲工业园18号